University Profile


Tanta University is an Egyptian university located in Tanta in Gharbia governorate. It became a university in 1972 after it had been a branch of Alexandria University. Tanta University was established based on the republican decree No. 1468 of 1962. That decree stipulated founding Faculty of Medicine in Tanta. Currently, Tanta University includes 16 faculties and institutes namely faculties of Medicine, Science, Education, Business, Pharmacy, Dentistry, Arts, Applied Arts, Law, Nursing, Engineering, Agriculture, Physical Education, Specific Education, and Computer and Information, in addition to the Technical Institute of Nursing and 37 special units.

The university’s vision is innovation and pioneering in knowledge production and application, in addition to being competitive in achieving sustainable development.

Tanta University abides by following a sustainable development strategy for improvement of the educational environment, production of knowledge, innovation, and entrepreneurship to cope with labour market needs in all sectors and to keep pace with the international advancement in competitive applied research that addresses community issues.

Former Presidents

The University in Numbers